Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize


Every year on CSIR foundation day i.e., 26 September, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awardees names announced by CSIR Director General. While the award is going to be presented by Prime Minister of India. For the year 2018,  CSIR announced the name of 13 scientists. We heartily congratulate all the scientists for their great achievements, research done for the nation as well as excellence in the field.

Who receives Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award?

Any scientist whose work shows an outstanding contribution to the field and also important progress in their respective field. Also, five years of work done primarily in India. Furthermore, every year across the country several scientists aged below 45 chosen and awarded for the outstanding work done.

The aim of the award

To honour for the outstanding work done in India and recognized by CSIR in the field of science and technology. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, founder of CSIR and the award is named after him.

Prize details

However, the awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh, a plaque, citation. Additionally, every month the awardee will receive Rs.15000 up to the age of 65 years. The disciplines included – Biological Science, Chemical Science, Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences, Engineering Science, Mathematical Science, Medical Science, Physical Science.

This year total of 13 scientists honoured for their work done in 7 different disciplines. Here, is the list available

  1. Biological Sciences – Dr Ganesh Nagaraju, IISC Bengaluru, Dr Thomas Pucaydil, IISER Pune
  2. Chemical Sciences – Dr Rahul Banerjee, IISER Kolkata, Dr Swadin Kumar Mandal IISER Kolkata
  3. Mathematical Sciences – Dr Amit Kumar, IIT Delhi, Dr Nitin Saxena IIT Kanpur
  4. Physical Sciences – Dr Aditi Sen De, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad, Dr Ambarish Ghosh, IISC Bengaluru
  5. Medical Sciences –  Dr Ganesan Venkatasubramanian, NIMHANS, Bengaluru
  6. Engineering Sciences – Dr Amit Agarwal, IIT Bombay, Dr Ashwin Anil Gumaste, IIT Bombay
  7. Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary  Sciences –  Dr Parthasarathi Chakraborty, CSIR-NIO, Goa, Dr Madineni Venkat Ratnam, National Atmospheric Research Laboratory, Tirupati


Leave A Reply