Nobel Peace Prize 2018


Dr Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad awarded Nobel Peace Prize 2018 for the work done against sexual violence.

Nobel Peace Prize awardees

Mukwege has done a great service in treating thousands of women victims. Till date, he has treated thousands of women and girls. He served for more than 20 years.

While Nadia won for raising voice against sexual violence and became a member to free the Yazidi people. Her bitter experience made her fight against the evil sexual violence. Also, Naida is now the 17th woman and the 2nd youngest winner after Yousafzi.

Berit Reiss-Andersen, the chairwoman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, said,“We want to send out a message of awareness that women, who constitute half of the population in most communities, actually are used as a weapon of war, and that they need protection and that the perpetrators have to be prosecuted and held responsible for their actions.”

Nobel Prize awardees 2018

Also, a few other people won the award earlier this week. Donna Strickland won the Nobel Prize for Physics. Also, Arthur Ashkin and Gerard Mourou awarded Nobel prize for physics.

While Professor James P Allison and Professor Tasuku Honjo awarded in the field of medicine. They discovered how a body’s immune system can be used to fight against cancer.

In the field of chemistry, three scientists awarded Nobel Prize. Frances Arnold, George P. Smith, Gregory P.Winter received the prize for their discoveries in enzyme research.


Leave A Reply